Welcome to the Health Inspection Program Online License Renewal Service
Welcome to the Health Inspection Program Online License Renewal Service. This online service makes it possible for you to renew your licenses under the Division of Environmental and Community Health, Health Inspection Program in one simple transaction. This service is provided by a third party working in partnership with the State of Maine. The total amount you pay includes funds to develop, maintain and enhance the State's official web portal, Maine.gov, and Maine.gov online services like this one.
Who can use this service?
The following must be true to use this service:
- It is 60 days or less from the license expiration date.
- You are renewing a license available through this service.
- You do not need to make any changes to your license information other than mailing address, phone number, email address or dates and times of seasonal operation.
What you will need:
You will need the following information:
- Establishment ID number
- PIN number
- Documentation of required certifications (accepted format: PDF)
- Valid Credit/Debit card (accepted cards: Visa, MasterCard, Discover and AmericanExpress)
- Email Address
NOTICE: If you prepare and serve food and are NOT connected to town or city public water and are NOT regulated by the Maine Drinking Water Program, then you must show that your water is safe to drink and use.
Those of you not on town or city water or not regulated by the Drinking Water Program must provide current water test RESULTS for a BASIC WATER TEST that includes total coliform (bacteria) AND nitrate, the most common water contaminants that may cause illness for adults and children.
Upload or fax water test results to 207-287-3165 and be sure to include your confirmation # and establishment ID# OR you can mail it to: Maine CDC, Health Inspection Program, 286 Water St FL 3, Augusta, ME 04333-0011 or you may email it to firstname.lastname@example.org. Your license will not be renewed until we see your satisfactory water test results. It is illegal to operate without a current license.
If you have questions about this requirement please see our website at www.maine.gov/healthinspection or call the Health Inspection Program at 287-5671.
Notice for Eating Establishments:
In order to renew an eating place license you MUST upload or fax to 207-287-3165 a valid copy of your Certified Food Protection Manager certificate(s). Your license will not be mailed out until this is received, unless you're exempt. Contact your health inspector if you have questions.
Notice for Tobacco Licensees:
Due to a law change effective January 2, 2020, each retailer of tobacco products must verify that it purchases tobacco products only from a Maine Revenue Services (MRS) Licensed Tobacco Distributor. In order to renew your license, you MUST provide the name of your licensed distributor. Your license will not be mailed to you until this is received. A current list can be viewed at ListTobDist.htm. Read the complete text of the law change here: TobaccoNotice122019.pdf.
Notice for Pool Licensees:
In order to renew your license you MUST upload or fax to 207-287-3165 a valid Certified Pool Operator(s) certificate. Your license will not be mailed to you until this is received.
Notice for Body Piercers, Micropigmentation and Tattooist Licensees:
In order to renew your license you MUST upload or fax to 207-287-3165 a Bloodborne Pathogen Certificate. The certificate is good for 3 years since the date of issue. Your license will not be mailed to you until this is received.
Send additional documentation via email to email@example.com, fax to (207)287-3165 or mail it to:
Health Inspection Program
286 Water St FL 3
Augusta ME 04333-0011
Questions about this Service? Contact the Program at: (207) 287-5671 or see www.maine.gov/healthinspection.