Welcome to the Online Renewal & Profile Update Service
Welcome to the Total Notary Solution. This service allows you to update your Notary Public Commission information with the Secretary of State, as well as to renew your Commission if you are eligible for renewal. You may update your middle name, last name, suffix, legal, physical and/or mailing addresses, contact telephone numbers, email address and any other language fluency.
When renewing your Commission, you must take an online Notary Public Law and Practices Knowledge Examination. The examination includes 30 questions covering a variety of areas relating to Maine notarial laws and practices. While taking the examination, if you provide an incorrect response, you will have the opportunity to review the related information from the online handbook and adjust your response accordingly. You will not be able to move to the next question until a correct response is provided.
After completing the examination portion of the renewal process, you will be required to print documentation relating to your renewal. This documentation includes the application for renewal (your examination questions and responses and residency verification), notice providing information about your new commission and your Oath of Office form. As you did when you initially applied for Notary Public Commission, you will need to appear before a Notary Public to have your renewal application notarized and have your municipal clerk or registrar of voters verify your residency in Maine. You must also appear before a Dedimus Justice to take your oath of office. Once you have had your renewal application notarized, your residency verified and you have taken your oath, this material must be returned to the Secretary of State to complete the renewal process.
There is no fee to update your contact information.
The fee for renewal is $50.00
Who Can Use This Service
Any Notary Public commissioned in the State of Maine may use this service. You may update your contact information at any time.
You may renew your Commission if:
- Your Commission will expire within the next 45 days; or
- Your Commission has expired within the last 20 days (You will maintain your current month & day for your new expiration date year); or
- Your Commission has expired within the last 21 to 90 days (you will be given a new month & day for your new expiration date year)
What You Will Need
- Your Log In Information (first & last name, date of birth, and commission expiration date)
- A valid credit or debit card (Visa, MasterCard or Discover) (for renewal)
- Email Address to receive confirmation and official communications from the Secretary of State on your commission.
- Adobe Acrobat Reader
- A printer
Questions about this Service? Contact the Bureau at: (207) 624-7752 or Email: email@example.com
Required fields are indicated by an asterisk (*). Please do not provide a middle initial or middle name as part of your first name in the field below to log into the system.